Author Interviews · Ten on Tuesdays

Ten on…Thursday?! It’s Because My Computer was Buried!

Please welcome Patricia Rose to my blog, author of Iron Mike a sci-fi!

Author pic head shotI met Patricia through Epilogues Book Club on Facebook and we’ve been fast freinds ever since. I haven’t yet read her new release, but I will and I will review it for you…at some point. You all know I’m a busy bee!

You write Science Fiction. What drives a Science Fiction book for you?

I believe any book, Sci-Fi or other, is driven by the characters. No matter how scary the aliens, how intense the space battles, how technological the technology, if I’m not reading about people I CARE about, the book isn’t a success in my opinion. I need to be able to cheer for the good guy and boo the bad guy, just like I do at the movie theater.

WHAT?! You mean to say that big explosions and space races aren’t enough for you?! Who are you?? Just kidding. Yep. Characters need to be deep and meaningful, no matter what genre.

How has self-publishing changed the way you read?

It really hasn’t. I have always read for enjoyment, first and foremost. I may notice picky editing mistakes a bit more closely, but overall, if there’s an interesting plot and characters I enjoy, I will love the book.

Awww, an author who still reads only for enjoyment…you’re cute!

Who or what has helped you become a better writer over time?

I’ve taken a number of classes related to creative writing, and each one has contributed something to the reservoir of skill I am trying to accumulate. Also, though, I’ve learned a lot from my editor and beta readers!  It’s always much fun for me when someone else reads something I’ve written; when they both read and provide feedback, I am in writer’s HEAVEN!

Love those messages! I don’t get them often, but when I do, I want to kiss the reader!

You have put your blood, sweat, and tears into your work. What made it worth the effort?

I think, more than anything else, I love the “high” I get when someone reads and enjoys something I’ve written. I like to watch people read my writing, because when they laugh or cry or get angry with one of the characters I’ve created, I feel that all the way to my toenails. It’s thrilling, like that one moment riding a roller coaster when you are JUST at the crest of a rise, and you’re about to plummet down at exhilarating, insane speeds. To me, having someone enjoy something I’ve written feels like being eternally on that peak.

That is a fantastic description!! I bet your books are full of great ones!

When did you start writing for publication? What made you decide to put your work out there to be read by others?

I decided to put Iron Mike out in July of this year. It had been sitting unfinished on my computer for about two years, and I just looked at it one day and decided it was a story that might have some entertainment value, so I decided to finish it. As I got closer to finishing it, I started exploring Facebook and found the Epilogues community. At that point, I realized that much, if not most, of Indie publishing was accomplished by “normal” people like me, not the “big” writers. So I decided to give it a shot, and this is where I came out.

I have Iron Mike on my kindle…awaiting the day I have the time to pick it up, haha. Soon, babe, I promise and I will review it as well. And yes, we are a bunch of normal people with stories to tell.

Tell us about your favorite memory related to reading or writing?

The first days of summer vacation – every year from kindergarten through the end of college – were reading BINGES for me, and they were absolute bliss! I would spend days hiding in my room reading or making up stories, and they were the most wonderful days I could have imagined.

I loved the free reading I got suring the summer too! By middle school I was going through about ten novels a week. I didn’t sleep much, but I was happy!!

I found you through your social media presence. What do you like to see from your fans, followers, readers, and supporters on your social media sites?

I like to see kindness from people in general, and it especially pleases me when it happens online. There is so much snarkiness and hatred tossed around online just because someone is hiding safely behind the anonymity of their keyboard.

Isn’t that the truth! It’s an odd psychology and I am just as guilty of it as anyone. I say things online I would never say in real life. Like ‘fuck’. That word doesn’t come out of my mouth, only out of my fingers. Haha. I’m not rude, but I like the freedom of not having to police myself for my kids.

As an author, what is that one memory that will always stick with you?

I think my birthday this year will always be a high point. I had my best friend in the world visiting for the week and she, Kevin and I went to see the Broadway presentation of Beauty and the Beast. Then I came home and had an awesome and wonderful release day event for the debut of my first novel. Those were both unique and unforgettable experiences.

Iron Mike Kindle coverOooh! FUN!! Release day, bff, and broadway musical?! What could be better?!

What kinds of activities do you do to keep yourself fresh and happy with your writing?

I’ll keep a couple of different projects running at the same time. When I hit a snag with one, I will switch to another. I’m not one of those multitasking gurus who can keep six or seven novels going at the same time; I always have one main project on which I concentrate most of my energy, and two smaller projects which I can turn to whenever I feel a bit of writer’s block. Three balls juggling in the air is my limit, though.

I do that too. I have three going now too. It helps to keep the creativity flowing!

When you consider your future, what would you like to make happen for you?

I would love to see Iron Mike picked up by a movie studio! Other than that, my dreams are relatively simple.  😉

Woo! Me too!! It can happen!


Tell us a bit about your current work(s)-in-progress.

I’m working on a novel called Hopeless, which is the story of two women who have been best friends since their early teens. One of them goes missing, and the rest of the story involves how her friend tries to work with the FBI to find her. I’m also playing with the idea of a sequel to Iron Mike, although that one is still in the outline stages.

And what about your previous works? How we can get our hands on them?

Closer to Veterans’ Day, I’ll be releasing a short story I had written several years ago. I’m planning to release it free of charge. Other than that, I don’t have any plans at this time to release older works.

Where can we find you to tell you how amazing we think you are?

I have a brand, shiny, new blog at  —-  www.ramblingsofamidniterose.com

I can also be reached at ——-  patricia_rose.author@aol.com

and on Facebook at        https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010326999011

Leave a Reply

