Author Interviews · Ten on Tuesdays

Ten on Tuesday with Jeremy Hill

You write Young Adult, Horror Fantasy, and Light Erotica primarily. What drives a these for you?

The characters and their relationships to one another usually drive a story for me. A believable character with realistic motives, desires and strong relationships will usually drive a story for me. Sometimes it seems like I’m along for the ride, much like a first-time reader would be, and I love that feeling.

How has self-publishing changed the way you read?

Being a self-pubbed author has made me look at why I like the stories and books that I have read in the past. Not just the plot or characters involved, but the technical side to them – the writing, narrative, point of view, etc. It has caused me to re-read a lot of my favorites and see why they are so captivating.

Who or what has helped you become a better writer over time?

Constantly writing has helped me a lot. Even if it’s something I never publish; a journal, long email, etc… just typing and putting words down will always be beneficial to improving your prose.

You have put your blood, sweat, and tears into your work. What made it worth the effort?

Knowing that someone, somewhere will read it and get satisfaction from having done so. Discovering a new favorite author for me is like winning a prize and I can only hope to have someone feel that way about one of my books.

When did you start writing for publication? What made you decide to put your work out there to be read by others?

I began seriously writing for publication a little over a year ago. I have always tried to get published traditionally, but the process seemed slow and I only half-heartedly pursued it. I’ve only really ever written for myself and my friends before then.

Tell us about your favorite memory related to reading or writing?

I remember being extremely young and finishing my first actual full length book, the movie adaptation of ‘Return of the Jedi’. Before then, paperbacks looked so time consuming and like a lot of work to read cover to cover. Finishing that first book showed me that even though they could be time consuming, they also had their own rewards, because I hadn’t even seen the movie at that point. That set me on my way to reading almost anything I could get my hands on.

I found you through your social media presence. What do you like to see from your fans, followers, readers, and supporters on your social media sites?

I love feedback, good or bad. I love discussion. I prefer fans that engage me and enjoy my work, but will tell me when something is not to their liking or tell me what they prefer from my characters and narrative. I’d prefer that over mindless sheep that just gobbled up everything I put out there.

As an author, what is that one memory that will always stick with you?

Receiving my first book proof in the mail; just holding something with my name on it and seeing my words in print was validation to me. I will always remember that feeling.

What kinds of activities do you do to keep yourself fresh and happy with your writing?

I am a huge movie lover; sometimes I will watch four or more in one go. If I’m in the middle or a horror story I will usually watch a mindless comedy or something. I almost never watch the genre I’m working in. I’m a huge horror movie fan, but I almost never watch horror movies when I’m in the middle of a horror story. It’s a nice break to get away from that mindset with something different.

When you consider your future, what would you like to make happen for you?

I’d like for my sole income to come from my writing, or at the least not feel like I’m wasting my efforts. I don’t know, it would be nice to be a rich or famous author, but at the same time I don’t think I would ever get used to that. I would like for people to enjoy reading what I do and for me to continue to enjoy doing it.

Tell us a bit about your current work(s)-in-progress.

I am currently serializing a YA novel at http://www.jukepop.com/home/read/2274 and still writing vampire short fiction with my mind on a future anthology. All my fantasy vampire horror stories are set in the same fictional universe.

And what about your previous works? How we can get our hands on them?

I am published just about everywhere you can find ebooks online. Smashwords https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/dio666 and Amazon primarily, http://amazon.com/author/jeremyhill

Where can find you to tell you how amazing we think you are?

People can keep up with me on my main site http://thegiftedseries.webs.com/ or my facebook author page https://www.facebook.com/jeremydhillvv or follow me on twitter @arcades666

 

One thought on “Ten on Tuesday with Jeremy Hill

Leave a Reply

