Ten on Tuesdays

Ten on Tuesday with Samantha Christy

samanthaAllow me to introduce Samantha Christy to you. If you haven’t met her or gotten to know her works, I encourage you to do so today! She writes in-depth emotional romances that will cover the gambit of your emotional tolderances. Samantha and I are buddy writers on a Goodreads group and I must admit that her work ethic and prose have challenged to become a better writer.

You write contemporary and new adult romance. What drives a good romance for you?

My romances are all character driven. If you don’t have good characters, the story will fall flat. I try to pick characters that are well rounded, yet flawed. Strong, yet vulnerable.

It is my humble opinion that your characters are perfect for romance.

How has self-publishing changed the way you read?

I read a lot of self-published books. I like to support other indie authors. At the same time, it’s true that anyone with a computer can publish anything they write, no matter what the quality. It’s a shame that some writers don’t take the time to put out polished work and therefor propagate the stigma of all indie writers as not being as good as traditionally-published authors. You do have to pick and choose, but there are some absolutely great titles out there.

That is for sure! I’ve made a commitment to only read indies this year and so far I have gotten my claws into some amazing works (including yours!)

Who or what has helped you become a better writer over time?

I read a lot. Reading other works, good and bad, helps me improve my own writing. I see both what I want to do and what to avoid like nails on the blackboard.

That’s a great way to read! Picking up on the things you both like and dislike and using that knowledge to refine your craft is a wonderful way to keep in touch with the writing community and keep your own writing fresh.

You have put your blood, sweat, and tears into your work. What made it worth the effort?

Seeing my paperbacks on my bookshelf next to my favorite authors. It was such an accomplishment for me. It gives me that personal satisfaction I can’t get anywhere else.

That is awesome! I wonder if you let people peruse your library…

When did you start writing for publication? What made you decide to put your work out there to be read by others?

I started writing in January 2014. It was something on my bucket list that I’d always wanted to do. I never intended to publish; it was something I did just for myself. However, when I showed it to a few friends, they insisted I publish. So, after a few rounds of editing with friends and family, Be My Reason was published in June 2014. It took off after that. Writing became part of my daily routine and I felt empty without it. I’m now working on my fifth novel that will be released in July.

Prolific! I’m a little jealous of your writing routine right now.

Tell us about your favorite memory related to reading or writing?

I read a series of books one time (and I’m purposefully omitting the titles) that I fell in love with so much that I actually cried for days and days after I finished them. I was depressed because I had connected with the characters on such a human level that I missed them as I would miss my own flesh and blood if I could no longer have contact. It affected me so deeply. It was one of the reasons I wanted to become a writer.

WHAT?! You can’t just leave us romancers hanging for the titles! So. Mean. And wow. I haven’t experienced that kind of emotional injury due to reading, though I have met some characters that will be in my heart forever.

I found you through your social media presence. What do you like to see from your fans, followers, readers, and supporters on your social media sites? 

I love interacting with readers. It makes my day when someone reaches out to me. I had so many readers making collages for my second novel, Abstract Love, and that touched me deeply. It amazes me every time someone tells me my books have affected them in some small way.

Awww. That is so sweet. Connecting with readers is one of the best parts of this job.

As an author, what is that one memory that will always stick with you?

Honestly, I’m not sure I’ve had it yet. I mean, I’ve had a lot of really great moments. Like the days I’ve published each of my four books. The 5-star reviews that validate my hopes and dreams as a writer. The kudos I get from strangers, friends and family. But, I haven’t yet had that moment. That one moment that I’ll remember until the day I die. It may never happen. And if it doesn’t, I will still never regret becoming a writer.

Of course you won’t regret it! You are one of my go-to recommendations for readers of contemporary. In fact, I just met my backdoor neighbor and went on and on about your works to her *giggle* (she recognized my name!).

What kinds of activities do you do to keep yourself fresh and happy with your writing?

I take breaks. Even when it kills me. Writing is a strange beast and those of you that write, understand what an obsession is it. But it becomes almost impossible, day after day, to keep those creative juices flowing if we don’t take a hiatus from time to time. We sometimes forget we are wives, mothers, sisters and friends. We need to keep up with those relationships as well as our fantasy ones.

Also, I get on the treadmill a lot. Whenever I have writer’s block, I stick the earbuds in and hit the ‘rolling pavement.’ Inspiration strikes. Every single time.

Keep yourself taken care of so your characters and stories can come out the best possible way. I think we all need reminders that we need to take time to regroup. I sometimes forget that recharging is part of the writing process.

When you consider your future, what would you like to make happen for you?

I’m blessed with a husband that has allowed me to follow this crazy dream. I will continue to write until I physically or mentally can’t do it anymore. I hope that doesn’t happen for decades or longer because it truly has become who and what I am. Of course, I would love to get my books into the hands of as many readers as possible, but if that never happens; if nobody after today buys another copy of my books, I will still write. Because although I love readers, I started on this journey for myself and I continue to do it for myself. I don’t think I would be any good at it if I did it for any other reason.

Your future looks like it’s going to be filled with love 🙂

Tell us a bit about your current work(s)-in-progress.

‘White Lilies’ is the second book in my series following the three Mitchell Sisters. (Purple Orchids was book one, published in March.) Although it is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone.

It follows Skylar Mitchell, a twenty-four-year-old promiscuous, independent restaurant manager. She wakes up one day disappointed in herself and her life. She decides to make a major change and do something meaningful. She becomes a surrogate for a couple that can’t have a child. What she didn’t count on, however, was the incredible friendship she found with Erin, the would-be mother. She also didn’t count on falling in love with Erin’s husband. Fate throws a wrench in the best-laid plans leaving her to make difficult choices.

White Lilies will be released in July.

And what about your previous works? How we can get our hands on them?

My first novel, Be My Reason, is a second chance romance. It’s fun and sexy. Brooklyn and Nate have a sweet one-night-stand in high school that promises more when he suddenly disappears. Years later, when they meet by chance, he has taken on the role of destructive playboy and she is engaged to be married.  You will laugh with them and cry over their heartache. Over eighteen only, please. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KDK217W

My second book, Abstract Love, is probably my most notable to date. It has gotten a lot of attention and accolades because I take a dark subject and make it almost fun and flirty. My characters meet in a chemotherapy center and only communicate by texting across the room for the first half of the book. They develop a deeply-emotional relationship that they later find to be seeded by past events neither of them could have imagined. There’s not a lot of sex and steam in this book. It’s more emotional and even more character-driven that the others. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00M3MEVA8

Next came Finding Mikayla. Again, I pushed the envelope a bit with this setting. It is a post-apocalyptic romance, occurring after a world-wide event that wipes out technology. Rest assured, however, that romance is the key element to this story. I still consider it, and have categorized it as a contemporary romance. Mikayla is a doctor at a survivor’s camp where a stranger shows up almost a year after the event. She struggles with her feelings for him because she has a boyfriend who is lost overseas, his fate unknown. Mitch and Mikayla find they have more in common than simple attraction and have to face difficult decisions about their future. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00QJLP1GM

Purple Orchids follows Baylor and Gavin who meet and fall in love in college only to be ripped apart by a lie. Years later, fate has them meet under unbelievable circumstances. Both having believed they were wronged by the other, they try to get back together, facing hurdles and demons from their past. This book was written in both POVs which was loads of fun for me! It’s quite steamy at times, so please, over eighteen readers only. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00UHPKXMS

Where can find you to tell you how amazing we think you are?

http://www.samanthachristy.com/

https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaChristyAuthor

https://twitter.com/SamLoves2Write

samanthachristy@comcast.net

Leave a Reply

