Monday Personal Log

MPL 10: What the Hell Am I Doing…

giving my characters swords?!

Seriously. I do not know a thing about swordplay. Why would I choose a sword as my character’s weapon of necessity? I have no earthy idea!

Oh wait.

Yes I do. It’s because my world necessitates the sword.

If you’ve read the first three chapters of Genesis, then you know that God puts a flaming sword to defend Eden from human infiltration after the sin of Man and his subsequent banishment from the garden. So, my world is based on a bastardization of my father’s bastardization of biblical interpretation, and that flaming sword was too tempting to leave out.

As I am writing the second book in my Guardian series, I have come to rely heavily on description and innuendo to relay fight scenes because…

I. Don’t. Know. A. Thing. About. Swordplay.

For example, an unedited teaser from Falling Angels:

I bit my anger down until it was at a usable level and raced toward them, too late to save the humans, but pissed off and ready enough to destroy the demons within them. They attacked together, bearing swords, but nothing like the one I wielded. With only a few quick strokes, they fell, downed by everlasting flames and eternal damnation. When their screams penetrated the rest of the demonic intrusion, ten demons swept out of the stables en masse, intending to cut me down.

Fighting with sword and fist, foot and fang, I dropped them one by one until none stood in my path. Covered in the blood of ten fragile humans, unable to save them from the taste of violent death, I entered the stables to a scene straight out of the movies.

Yuruch, what was left of his zombie body anyway, stood in the center of a circle of demons, holding his sword. It was so black the warmth in the room had been stolen along with the light from the overhead lamps. Demons hissed and spat at him, but wild-eyed and crazy with fear, he swung at any of them that dared near him. One demon didn’t flee his swing quickly enough and vanished the instant the sword touched him.

Ok, so now you have had a taste of me, time to introduce a new-to-me author:

Carol Paris 1998 cropMerritt Kelly has been in love with the written word as long as she can remember. When she’s not writing she’s cooking, walking or reading. She resides in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, her son and her cat.
She loves to laugh, all the music in the Guardians Of The Galaxy, trying new foods, a good glass of wine and almost anything chocolate. Her first novel, Culinary Seduction, a foodie/Chick lit romance was released through Soul Mate Publishing in Febraury of 2015.
Together we are working on the dinner party Facebook event I told you all about a couple weeks ago. I have not (yet!) read her book, Culinary Seduction, but here it is:
Food is the new sex and cheftestants Andrea Claire and Danny Miller are battling it out to see who becomes the new high priest or priestess. The two face off in a contest for hosting duties of new show called Culinary Seduction.
Chef Andrea Claire is a woman who knows what she wants, and what she wants is to build her own culinary empire. Hosting the show would give her the injection of cash she needs to finally get a store front for her catering business and give her the credibility she seeks. Her food  is infused with her warmth and passion.
Bad boy chef Danny Miller’s bold flavors and state-of-the-art techniques in molecular gastronomy set him apart from the pack. Hosting the show would raise the profile of his restaurant and he could pay what he owes the bank and his grandmother.
Will his talent be enough to garner him the win? Or will Andre’s seductive on camera personality and obvious passion for cooking win out? Their on air chemistry is undeniable. The test kitchens at Cuisine Channel have never been so hot!

 

culinary seduction

7 thoughts on “MPL 10: What the Hell Am I Doing…

  1. *grins* Agri & Ash fights with swords… Shout if you would like ideas on it – I’m no expert but I LOOOOOVE their fights *chuckles* I’m also told it is ‘hot’ *shrugs* Dunno so much about that, could be Agri’s burning sword? LOL
    Hi HI Merrit!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Screwing around with a website. Not sure what I am trying to provide, but as an outsider, this book stuff seems like a lot of talent trying to get to the major leagues. I am the guy who represented Sean Mikell on the Ladybug novel, thanks for the Amazon review. Look at a very rough draft and let know to, mind my own business, it is ok but, keep going and see what I come up with. I am old, 77, read very little, do most of this on my iPad, with an iMac in support. More important, have poor vision and is the main reason I like this software compared to WordPress etc. I know you are very busy, so no hurry, I will keep going until it dawns on me, I am wasting my time. I respect your advice and will be protective of the info I copied. http://theauthors.simdif.com/Jim KeeleySent from Yahoo Ma

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

