Reviews

Guest Reviewer: Lavern Winters

525945_3536028489021_1902512974_nPlease welcome my mom, Lavern Winters today! She is guest reviewing Ani Manjikian’s book, Spirit of the Lone Horse (Star of Heros, Book 1). Ani and I have been in cahoots for several weeks now and since I have been so enamored of her, I thought you all might enjoy someone else’s impression of her work. I want you all to know that, while I do develop personal friendships with many of the authors I feature on my blog, it does not stop me from giving out honest reviews. I whole-heartedly endorse Spirit of the Lone Horse as a well-written, well-developed novel and my mother is here to tell you what she thought too.

star o heros

I read Spirit of the Lone Horse at the request of my daughter, Jen. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I had no idea that it was supposed to be a Sci-fi so, as I began reading, the events seemed pretty normal. I liked the characters and the relationships between them. Twins were prominent and the author did a fine job of creating special bonds between them as you would expect of twins. There was a mystery that had to be solved and I was intrigued. It captured my interest and I had to know who and why because do I like a good mystery.

After a few chapters the book took an unexpected twist that threw it into the Sci-fi genre and I was delighted. I have always liked science fiction from the my youth when I read H.G. Wells and Jules Verne.  The story isn’t your typical Sci-Fi, though there are aliens and a space ship and time travel. For this book the aliens do not play a significant role in the mystery. However there are hints of their involvement in the lives of the earthly characters that will certainly make for some good reading in future volumes of this series.

Overall I found the characters were well developed throughout the book, no shallow characters here. The story was engaging and entertaining. I enjoyed this read and would recommend it to anyone who likes a good mystery mixed with a bit of science fiction. 5 Stars

five star

 

4 thoughts on “Guest Reviewer: Lavern Winters

Leave a Reply

