Ten on Tuesdays

Ten on Tuesday with Kawanee Hamilton

kawanee

Kawanee Hamilton has been a super friend to me, and I am so happy to have her on my blog today for an interview! Isn’t she gorgeous?>>>

You write Paranormal Romance. Do you read it as well?

Yes I do! To paraphrase a common refrain:  I’ll read anything that doesn’t read me first.  I love to read. Everything Fiction and even some nonfiction.  Paranormal Romance, Horrors, Sci-fi/Fantasy, Drama, Historical, True Crime… you name it, I’ve probably read something in that genre.

My favorite authors in this genre: Sherrilyn Kenyon, Maggie Shayne, and  Gena Showalter.

I’ve only read one of those three! I’m excited to find new reads! Bwahahahahaha!

What drives a Paranormal Romance for you and makes it something you want to read/write?

I love discovering new worlds and mythologies. Strong male characters but equally strong females butting heads and eventually coming together after overcoming obstacles.

I love Romance; I love Sci-fi/Fantasy. Paranormal Romance is a marriage of the two. What’s not to like?

Nothing. There is nothing not to like. We ever get to fall in love with our bad guys and turn them into romantic heroes if we want.

Is there an author that makes you strive to be a better writer? Who is it and why?

Yes; only every author I read. I’m jealous of their work, wish I could be as good as they are. I read a book by David Cornwall recently and the opening line was just amazing. I felt completely inadequate and immediately went back to editing the book I’m working on.

That is WONDERFUL! I love reading something that makes me need to rewrite my own. It’s a great learning experience and it makes us grow and become better!

What do you think you bring to your books that makes you unique?

Good question. I think every writer brings something unique to their books.  We all have unique ways of looking at things and if we can get someone else to read and even entertain our thoughts for a couple of hours or days? Well that’s truly something!

I’m entertaining your thoughts this week. Teehee. No spoilers, but tomorrow’s review is coming!

What started you on the path to becoming an author?

Well a number of things. I was plagued by nightmares as a child, my dad got tired of taking a boney knee to his- uhmmm- delicate areas in the middle of the night. He taught me that dreams were stories our minds made up and I was the one writing the stories (the author). So I could change them to something not scary. We sat up rewriting my nightmares into dreams, and then introduced me to Andre Norton when I was old enough to read them.

Mom read us books at bedtime and then when I was old enough she let me read Barbara Cartland and her Regency Romances.

I loved Sci-Fi… I loved Romance. Still do, so a marriage between the two was just what I needed.

Your poor father! It’s so wonderful that he brought you to this place. I have a personal stake in your success (as a friend and author), so I am grateful to him.

What is that one moment you have had as a writer that made you realize you were actually a real author?

Lol, I’ll let you know when it happens! No, really, seeing my words on a page. Knowing that pile of paper is a completed book. Regardless of whether a publishing house ever pays me for it or not, I wrote that. E-books are great, but nothing beats seeing it printed to make it real.

I hear this all the time! My first thought at seeing my book in print was “what a waste of paper”. Seriously! I want to have that feeling you are describing. I want to experience that! I am so jealous of you right now.

How did you work your advertising and build your following?

Oh geez… I’m still working on that! I’ve assaulted every form of social media there is and I’m still trying to build a following.

Well, you found me, so I guess you can write that off as a success 😉 HAHA!

As an author, what is that one memory that will always stick with you?

So far it’s seeing my book up on Amazon and watching the counter tick off the number of books sold. I was giddy with excitement.

I recently have been experiencing that feeling too. I’m so happy for you!

How have your aspirations as a writer changed over time?

I’m not sure, I’ve just always written. I guess I started writing for myself and until a few years ago I’d never thought of getting published.

We will see how time changes you. Next time you are on here, I expect a different result. I can think of one way your aspirations have changed recently. You have decided to not take on a full-time job recently to focus on your writing. That is completely different today than it was at the beginning of the year.

Have you quit your day job yet or are you planning to any time in the future?

I didn’t quit my day job, they freed me up to pursue other opportunities in Jan. And now I’m using the “opportunity” to focus on my writing so maybe I don’t have to go back to a day job.

See my previous comment 😉

What are you working on now?

I’m working on the sequel to: Alleys and Broken Dreams: Going Home.  Alleys is not a Paranormal Romance, it’s a drama about the homeless.

Tell us a little about your previous works and how we can get our hands on them.

Well there’s two out there right now.

Alleys and Broken Dreams: Going Home. The streets are littered with the shards of broken dreams and in Alleys you’ll hear two of their stories. The first installment is about a man who helps a homeless veteran and a 16 yr old runaway.

Nwa Pante Rising: A Were-Pantheress goes into her first heat and meets one of her own kind. Their romance will alter the course of two worlds and spark off an interspecies war.

Where can we stalk–erm, follow your work online these days?

Twitter: @KawaneeHamilton

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/kawaneehamilton

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kawanee-Hamilton/322985091154095

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Kawanee-Hamilton/e/B008K6MKAE

Thank you, Kawanee! And thank you, Reader, for your likes, shares, clicks, and comments. Kawanee and I appreciate You stopping in and spending a bit of time with us.

3 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday with Kawanee Hamilton

  1. Thank you for honoring me with an interview. It was a lot of fun and a little nerve wracking, you’re right I decided I didn’t want to take on a full time job again in favor of focusing on my writing.

    You’re pretty awesome and have been super great to me as well. 😉 And thanks for sayin’ I’m purty 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

