Monday Personal Log

Monday’s Personal Log 7

oureastereggs15I hope everyone had a nice Easter weekend. I had a lot of fun dying eggs with my family and  Easter morning fun with my kids. We even had our first outdoor Easter egg hunt and the kids had a great time with that. I even had some opportunity to read this weekend and I have two things to say about that.

Ever come across a book you were so glad was a freebie? I had that happen to me. I got a book for free last week, a paranormal romance–maybe? I only read the prologue and the first chapter. At first, I was horrified. The writing was juvenile at best, mixing past and present tenses in the same sentence, the dialog was stoic, humdrum–boring–the characters, unbelievable. The more I’ve thought about it though, the more I am tickled by it. I don’t think I have ever read anything so badly written, and I know that my own writing has been at times terrible, but the worse it got, the more hilarious it became.

The reason I was tickled?

I recently came across a contest. A Kindle goes to the winner of the worst 1000 word story. I didn’t understand the pull of the contest; I mean, who wants to write something so bad it’s the worst of its kind? But now, I have a new appreciation for the contest and even an appreciation for the book that I will never finish reading but will always remember. How can I forget the worst work of fiction I’ve ever read? I simply won’t.

If anyone is interested in said contest, have a look here: http://newsite.jonestales.com/dir/?p=164

5 thoughts on “Monday’s Personal Log 7

  1. *smiles*
    I [Proudly] resemble this post – right down to the genre! LOL

    You should look up “How to speak English with an Afrikaans Accent.” And listen to it. It is funny [to us] but it IS how we translate and speak – I’d Ace the contest by simply speaking in my ‘natural’ manner through translation! LOL

    xxx
    Adri

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

