Ten on Tuesdays

Ten on Tuesday with Maggie Thom

Today we are talking to Maggie Thom suspense/thriller/mystery author of Captured Lies. I met her via a book of the month club I moderate and am pleased to bring this introduction to a great author to you.

???????????????????????????????You write suspense/thrillers. Do you read them as well?

I do, I read a lot. To be honest I read a lot of genres but suspense/thrillers is by far my favorite – authors like Robert Ludlum, Lisa Jackson, Sandra Brown, etc. are authors who definitely inspired me to go into writing suspense/thrillers.
Is there an author that makes you strive to be a better writer? Who is it and why?

When I started this journey, Robert Ludlum and Sandra Brown were definitely authors who inspired me. Robert Ludlum showed me how to add in characters without overdoing it but enough to keep the reader wanting to read and to try to figure out who the bad guy really was and where the story was going. Sandra Brown taught me that you can keep some romance in the story but make it more of the back story. Since I have published my three suspense/thrillers – Captured Lies, Tainted Waters, Deceitful Truths – I have met many authors who have inspired me to write better – Donna Cook, P.M. Terrell, Dianne Gallagher, etc. – very talented authors who know how to craft an intriguing story.

What do you think you bring to your books that makes you unique?

I think my books are unique because they cross several genres – suspense, thriller, mystery, romance – and they are often about family secrets that span twenty or thirty years, so it gives the story that added difficulty of finding answers.

What is that one moment you have had as a writer that made you realize you were actually a real author?

Great question. I think it was when my mom said, “can I read your book?” after it had been published. Of course when I told her it wasn’t in paperback she wasn’t too happy but she did read it and was quite impressed her daughter had written that.

What started you on the path to becoming an author?

I have loved writing since I was a young child but never really thought much about being an author until I was in University. I got curious but after graduation I got a job and life went on. It wasn’t until after I’d had my children that I truly actively pursued being an author.

How did you work your advertising and build your following?

I have done book blog tours, guest posts, radio and newspaper interviews, I’ve done talks, joined groups to help other authors, I host book blog tours, I also read and review quite a few books (Mostly indie or small published).

As an author, what is that one memory that will always stick with you?

I think the day I pulled my book – Captured Lies – from a traditional publisher and decided that I would Indie publish it. Scary moment but I wouldn’t change it.

How have your aspirations as a writer changed over time?

I think that my intent is to keep writing suspense/thrillers but I also am going to write some nonfiction books, specifically to help authors with writing a catchy book blurb. I love writing and will continue to do so.

Have you quit your day job yet or are you planning to any time in the future?

I did quit my full-time over 20-year job in management for the saner life of writing. 🙂

What drives a suspense/thriller for you and makes it something you want to read/write?

The mystery/the hunt/the chase/the what’s going to happen next and I love characters that I can connect with, who seem real to me and I am either cheering them on or telling them their crazy. I love twists I didn’t see coming and those stories when I finish, I go “Whoa” and feel like I’ve been on quite  a ride.

What are you working on now?

I have a couple of new books on the go.

Deadly Ties – What connection could there be between a twenty-year-old murder and a thirty-year-old murder and a present day attack on Kyara’s mother? Did her grandmother falsely go to jail for twenty years?

Split Seconds – Twins sisters meet for the first time as adults and soon discover that someone has gone to great lengths to keep them apart and will even kill to ensure that continues.

Tell us a little about your previous works and how we can get our hands on them.

Deceitful Truths (Book 2 The Caspian Wine Series)

He created a legacy that no one could imagine…

Tarin has lost a week of her life. She doesn’t know what happened but not long after she returns to work she is suspended from her job. Confused and pregnant, she quits and agrees to marry Stephen, only to be thrown into a whole new nightmare. Desperate, she grabs her son and flees across the country to get away from her abusive husband and to avoid her unforgiving father. Thrilled at getting the job at Knights Associates, where she’ll help them solve cyber crimes but also be able to use their connections and resources to find her own answers. Who stole a week of her life? And will they return to steal the secret she is now protecting?

Graham and his partner Guy, can’t keep up with the demand. They are being flooded with requests at Knights Associates, where they offer a combined service of private investigator and that of solving cyber crimes. It appears that someone wants to get their attention as not only have they been hacked but Guy’s family business, Caspian Winery, seems to be under attack as well. Hiring an assistant seems to be the answer but when Graham discovers she’s been accessing their high-security accounts, he realizes the cause of their predicament might be closer then he thought. Is there new assistant behind the problems they’re having? If she’s so innocent why does someone want to abduct her?

Tarin and Graham discover that although they don’t trust each other, they are forced to work together to solve several seemingly unrelated crimes that may lead to one disastrous conclusion. Can they figure it all out before Tarin’s nightmare plays out? An eighty year old woman pays with her life? Or before Tarin learns a truth that may seal her fate and be the one secret that will keep her and Graham apart as neither one of them may be able to forgive or forget…

(Caspian Wine Series, Book Two – Standalone but is a Sequel/Companion Novel to Captured Lies)

Maggie Thom’s talent for mixing mystery, intrigue and romance becomes a masterpiece begging to be read...” Tome Tender

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tainted Waters

He didn’t commit suicide but who’s going to believe her…

Frustrated at being fired from her latest job and overwhelmed by her consolatory family, Sam decides to move to the family’s cabin at the lake. A place she hasn’t been since her dad committed suicide there twenty years before. Or did he? Snooping is something she’s good at but someone seems to be taking offence to her looking too closely at what has been happening at the lake. What she discovers is shocking. Now she must uncover what’s real and what’s not. All that she learned growing up, may be false. Keegan who has recently moved to the area to finish his latest book is also trying to find out if his grandfather, who’d passed away ten years before, died of natural causes or was murdered? The descendants of the four families who own the land around the lagoon are dying off. Since Sam and Keegan are the only ones questioning the deaths, they find themselves working together to seek the truth. Are people being murdered? Who would benefit from their deaths? Why would there be barricades and armed guards at the north end of the lake? To stay alive, Sam and Keegan must find the answers and convince others, before more people are killed… including them.

Maggie Thom has done a really good job of writing a tangled web of suspense and mystery that will keep you guessing until the end.

“This is a book that will have you on the edge of your seat. Just when you think the story is over, think again.” Read Your Writes Book Reviews

Where can we stalk–erm, follow your work online these days?

Website: www.maggiethom.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/authormaggiethom

Twitter: www.twitter.com/maggiethom2

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6549592.Maggie_Thom

google +:  http://google.com/+MaggieThom

Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/maggiethom2/

One thought on “Ten on Tuesday with Maggie Thom

Leave a Reply

