Author Interviews · Ten on Tuesdays

Ten on Tuesday with Veronica Del Rosa

Veronica

Please welcome Veronica del Rosa today! I met Veronica on Goodreads when I first published Kissing Demons. She read and reviewed and through her help, influence, encouragement, and support I have become a much better writer and supporter of indie authors. Without her, this blog would not exist and my novelette would never have been conceived much less written and published. So, enjoy this little tidbit from her and go get her books! Seriously. They are fantastic!

You write paranormal romance. Do you read it as well?

Oh yes, I adore reading paranormal romances.  There are so many series and books I’ve devoured over the years that I’ve lost count of them. The great news is I can re-read and still have them fresh since I usually forget all the ins and outs.

Is there an author that makes you strive to be a better writer? Who is it and why?

I can’t say there’s just one author. There’s Kresley Cole and her sense of humour.  I usually laugh several times, startling those around me, while reading her books. Ilona Andrews and their complex characters.  I’m in awe of how richly they create their characters. Sherrilyn Kenyon and her tortured heroes. Not that I’ve tortured my heroes on the scale that she has. If I ever want to, though, I’ll make sure to take lessons from her.

I love Sherrilyn Kenyon’s tortured heroes too!

What is that one moment you have had as a writer that made you realize you were actually a real author?

When someone other than a friend read my work and loved it. Friends lie and say they enjoy your writing because they don’t want to hurt your feelings. A stranger doesn’t really care. They’re bluntly honest.  When I read the first 5-star review from a complete stranger, I knew then that I was an author.

I know that feeling well! My first review was posted by someone that I, to this day, don’t know. I couldn’t believe I got 4 stars from it!

What started you on the path to becoming an author?

I was reading a mediocre book that became hugely popular (no, I won’t say which one!) and told my husband that I could write a book as well.  Being a loving and supportive husband, he said, “Then do it and stop complaining about this one.” 😉

LMAO!! I don’t know him, but I can already tell he’s inspired at least one book boyfriend!

How did you work your advertising and build your following? 

Most of my following right now consists of those I’ve met on Goodreads and a small handful on Twitter.  For advertising, I’ve been doing word-of-mouth. Since I’m writing a series, I’m waiting until I have a few more books out before I start paying for advertising.

Makes perfect sense! That word-of-mouth advertising is powerful!

As an author, what is that one memory that will always stick with you?

Having my six-year-old son curl up to me as we wrote a story together.  He gave me the ideas and characters and I put them to paper. To see the world through the eyes of a child is fascinating. I’m still trying to curb him of his Gary Sue tendencies. 😉 He’s always got the best sword, the most powerful magic and amazing armour.

And he’s an anti-hero to boot! I loved your short ghost story

How have your aspirations as a writer changed over time?

Initially I wanted to just write a book and have people read it. Now I’d like to have a series behind my name, possibly two. I thought I could quit writing after one book. I did it to prove something to myself. At this point, I can’t imagine quitting, no matter how many times I claim I want to.

*gasp* Why would you ever say you want to quit?! Your books are an amazing addition to PNR/UF! Do not, under any circumstances, ever tell me that you are going to quit writing. I might have to fly up to Canada and give you a solid tongue lashing if you do!

Have you quit your day job yet or are you planning to any time in the future?

No, I’m still working my day job. It’ll probably be a while before have a steady income from writing, so I’ll stick it out for now.

What drives a romance for you and makes it something you want to read/write?

I love the fact that romance is both mired in realism and fantasy. It gives you the best of human nature as well as the worst. It reminds me that strong passion takes work and that it is possible to obtain in real life. I lucked out and found my own hero.

Aww. I love hearing how a romance author’s partner has influenced their writing. It makes me happy to know how many book boyfriends/girlfriends are based on real life.

What are you working on now?

I’m working on three books at the moment. Dawn’s Keeper which is the 3rd book in the Enforcers and Coterie series.  Dawn was first introduced in Magic Resistant, and she’s a vampire friend of Julia. Assassinated Love which is a bonus novella to go with book 3, which tells the story of Dawn’s parents in ancient Egypt. And Bound by Fae, the first book in a new Urban Fantasy series called Revenant. Markus is the main character and is threaded throughout the Enforcers and Coterie series.

I’m not sure which I am more excited about! I fell head-over-hells for Dawn in the first book, but then Markus is so mysterious and dangerous and I love a dangerous hero so much!

Tell us a little about your previous works and how we can get our hands on them.

Throwing Away the Good is a prequel novella that tell the story of Karl, a Fae sex slave who wants more than his current existence. When the chance comes, he has to decide if he can trust the two Fae who claim they want to rescue him. This novella is always free on Smashwords at https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/444165.

Magic Resistant is the first novel in the Enforcers and Coterie series. Julia, a Mage Enforcer, is kidnapped by a fugitive she’s tracking. Jackson claims he’s innocent of summoning a rampant demon. But that’s what they all say, right? This one is available on both Smashwords https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/467675  and Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Magic-Resistant-Enforcers-Coterie-Book-ebook/dp/B00MRMX2I6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1425681765&sr=8-1&keywords=magic+resistant.

Where can we stalk–erm, follow your work online these days?

I can be found on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Veronica-Del-Rosa/1421013791485096

Goodreads at https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8186292.Veronica_Del_Rosa

Twitter @Veronica_DelRos

And finally, my blog https://veronicadelrosa.wordpress.com/

I love talking books with anyone who’s interested. So hit me up, friend me, whatever. 🙂

Thank you so much for taking the time to be with us today! Veronica and I are very appreciative of your time, comments, likes, and shares! 

And thank you, Veronica, for being here! As always, it is a huge pleasure to have you!

4 thoughts on “Ten on Tuesday with Veronica Del Rosa

  1. The voices in my head won’t let me quit. 😉 Too many stories to tell. Hopefully Dawn’s Torment will be out in less than 6 months.
    Ah, my husband doesn’t believe me when I tell him he’s my own hero, but he is. A little of him is added to each of my male characters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

