Reviews

Review: Captures Lies by Maggie Thom

First, I want to say that I received this book as a gift from the author. I moderate a book of the month club that features independent authors and this was one among my reading list for that book club. I got this book during a rather rough time a few weeks ago and Maggie has been a doll about how long it’s taken me to read her book. I just want to say I am grateful for indie authors like Maggie who have been the epitome of good-people to me.

4.5 stars

Captured LiesCaptured Lies is a classic suspense with a great story that will keep you on your toes until the revelations at the end. I almost hate to use this word, but the mystery and suspense of the story was certainly convoluted enough to keep me guessing about the antagonists. I can honestly say that I have less experience with suspense than I have with most other genres, but I was thoroughly captivated by her writing style and story line.

Bailey is a bad-ass chic trying for a normal life amid her mother’s insistent rules that she garner zero attention in her life. When her mother dies, Bailey begins to unravel the truth behind a lifetime of living hand-to-mouth, moving unexpectedly, and rules that have never made sense to her. With the unwanted help of Guy, a private detective who finds himself on a more dangerous gig than he expected, Bailey works through the emotional and mental trauma of losing her mother, discovering the lies surrounding her life, and working out how to live on the other side of the mess her mother left her.

This is the first book in the Caspian Wine series and as soon as I get my reading list down, I will be getting the next. Maggie Thom is an indie author that will draw you into her story and keep you until you finish–no bookmarks required.

One thought on “Review: Captures Lies by Maggie Thom

  1. Thank you so much Jen for the wonderful review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed Captured Lies and that it kept you guessing. That is the best compliment. I truly appreciate you reading and reviewing my book. 🙂 Yay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

