Guest Bloggers

Friday Guest Blogger: Mistral Dawn, author Taken By the Huntsman

Bound By the Summer PrinceThis is my way of shamelessly promoting an author whose book I loved: Mistral Dawn is having a LAUNCH PARTY for her second novel Bound By the Summer Prince tomorrow, February 28th. join me there for games, prizes, and Q&A with Mistral Dawn.

Hi Jen!!  Thank you so much for inviting me on your blog to speak with you and all of your friends today! 🙂  Hi all of Jen’s friends, too! 😉

 

I appreciate the opportunity to get to meet so many new people, and that’s actually what I’d like to talk about with you today.  Something I’ve learned, and was very surprised by, is how supportive and helpful the indie author community is of each other.  There are exceptions, of course, but by and large, most of the authors I’ve met are extremely generous with their time, advice, and assistance.  Case in point, Jen allowing me to introduce myself and my books to her friends today.

 

This is actually something I first came across before I even started writing.  I’ve long been a fan of sci-fi/paranormal erotica author, Tracy St. John, and have followed her blog for years.  Periodically, she posts about challenges that have come up in her career as an indie author, and what solutions she’s found that work.  I started reading these posts long before I started writing, so when I wrote my first novel, Taken By The Huntsman, I reached out to her with my questions.  She was gracious, kind, and patient with this newbie, and I was amazed at how willing she was to help me become a “competitor” of hers.

 

At first I just thought Tracy was an exceptionally nice person (which she is! and a talented author! 😉 ), but I soon learned that there are many other equally amazing indie authors out there.  It’s difficult for indie authors to compete with the big publishing houses and their marketing machines, so many have realized that we do far better working together in a collaboration, instead of trying “defend our turf” and compete with each other too.  Individually, we are just small, mostly unknown authors and our books get lost in a veritable sea of books; but together, when we unite our voices, we can make ourselves heard over the din of other advertising.

 

This mindset, of collaboration instead of competition, is something that Mark Shaw is trying to promote using the hashtag he created: #IndieBooksBeSeen.  He’s created a Facebook group, a website , and is putting together a catalog of independently published books to be distributed at trade shows and in schools.  The hope is that, by banding together, we can more effectively inform people about all of these talented authors and their amazing books.

 

Another group I’ve found that works together for mutual success, is the Tweet Book Tweet (now Tweet Book Tweet Two) Amazon discussion group.  This group was founded by Dr. Barbara Ebel, and its primary purpose is to help promote group members’ books through mutual tweeting and retweeting, but the members are also generous with support, advice and encouragement.

 

Both of these groups are made up of wonderful people and terrific authors.  I definitely recommend you check them out when you get a chance.  If nothing else, you can make some new friends. 🙂

 

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this post, everyone, I appreciate your interest in me and in the indie publishing world.  If you have any questions or thoughts you’d like to share, I’d love to hear from you. 🙂  And thank you again, Jen, for allowing me to post my ramblings on your blog today.  You’re awesome! 🙂

Find Mistral Dawn

Mistral Dawn’s Musings Blog

Twitter

Facebook

Amazon Author Page

Smashwords Author Page

Goodreads Author Page

2 thoughts on “Friday Guest Blogger: Mistral Dawn, author Taken By the Huntsman

Leave a Reply

