Reviews

Review: Imogene’s Message by Christine Sherborne

4.5 stars

Imogene's message
Imogene’s Message: A Thriller of Extreme Prejudice

I must admit that I have never read a thriller before, so this was my first experience with the genre. It was a rollercoaster of emotions for me. In one moment I was thinking, “Ooooh, how pretty!” And in the next I was being shocked and horrified by the events. Sherbrooke certainly pulled me into her world and sent me tumbling through the suspense of her characters lives.

This is not a happily-ever-after book, not even a happily-for-now. She has set up a series here that will draw you in, keep you on your toes, and make you want to run to the sequel for more.

On a more scholarly note, I did a lot of research into animistic religions in graduate school, and for this book, Sherborne hits it on the head. She does an amazing job staying true to the beliefs and values of New Age religions. I only wish that she made more of an effort to offset the violence of the extremists with the goodness of the true believers in both the Christian and Muslim religions.

Altogether, 4.5 stars on an excellent novel. Highly recommend this to everyone!

Leave a Reply

