Guest Bloggers

Friday Guest Blogger: Kelly D. Smith

Can Teenagers Write Romance/Erotica?

Kelly D smith

 

Hello! First, I would like to say a huge thank you to Jen for letting me stop by!

 

Today, I’m going to talk a little bit about my experience as a romance/erotica writer. I’m currently 20 and I began writing romance when I was 16. I moved to erotica/romance when I was almost 18 and submitted my first story to a publisher on the day I turned 18. Six months later I had my first story published!

Over the past couple years I’ve found several people seemingly look down on me for my age, or even a couple of people tell me that I am too young to be a romance writer/not old enough to understand what I am writing.

Oddly enough those people always say romance. I’ve even had people tell me that it is one thing to write erotica at my age, but that I’m too young to understand romance.

Now, putting aside the fact that a person can do a lot of research on google these days… I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but I’m about to marry my high school sweetheart. Maybe 5 years isn’t the most impressive thing but I do think that would suggest I sort of know how to keep a relationship going, and might I even assume that I know a thing or two about love?!

Not only myself but I’ve been surrounded by love my entire life. My parents were high school sweethearts as well have always been open about their relationship. I’ve seen the ups and downs that my parents have gone through, I’ve seen the ups and downs that my friends have gone through with love, and I honestly believe that I understand it. At least as much as anyone else can.

Thankfully for me, I’ve never been one to listen to other people’s opinions on what I should or shouldn’t do, or what I can/can’t do. I’ve come to realize that people will have their own opinions, and I’ve come to accept that. I have my own opinion and I believe that writing romance has much more to do with maturity and understanding.

I wanted to talk about this because it’s a very unique experience. I know many people between the ages of 16 and 22 that want to get into the world of writing romance. I know that some of them already question their work a lot, let alone having someone tell them they are not old (which may be seen as “good”) enough to be writing this genre.

To judge someone based on their age, is a silly mistake. One that shouldn’t be taken lightly– I know many mature people, who were taking care of a house when they were 15, or able to handle adult situations at that age.

I also wanted to talk about this because it is an interesting conversation. Do you believe age plays a factor in writing romance/erotica?

How young is too young to write romance/erotica?

How do you feel about it?

 

Once again, thanks Jen for having me!

Find Kelly on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, and WordPress.

 

3 thoughts on “Friday Guest Blogger: Kelly D. Smith

  1. That’s like saying “You can’t writing about death because you’ve never experienced loss.” I think the saying “write what you know” is great, but (as you’ve mentioned) research is a huge part of writing as is imagination. I write mostly fantasy, and it would be absurd if someone said “you can’t write about witches because you’re not wiccan.” I would also like to point out that while romance may be different when you’re 20 than when you’re 30, you’d be hard pressed to find someone who didn’t feel the pull of attraction, the heart break of unrequited love, or the butterflies of a new relationship at that age. Love exists in young adult novels. Love exists for young adults. People who make comments like that don’t seemed to understand the very basis of writing and are too removed from their younger years (or are in denial) to remember what being an young adult was truly like. I’m 30. Even though I understand the emotions and thought processes within me have matured, I don’t belittle the emotions and experiences I had when i was younger by pretending they simply didn’t exist.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

